Thursday, August 16, 2012

Coding Certifications (CREDENTIALS)

Types of Medical Coding Certifications (CREDENTIALS)

AHIMA: (American Health Information and Management Association)

RHIA                   -           Registered Health Information Administrator

RHIT                   -           Registered Health Information Technician

CCA                     -           Certified Coding Associate

CCS-P                  -           Certified Coding Specialist – Physician Based

CCS                      -           Certified Coding Specialist – Hospital (Facility) Based

CHDA                  -           Certified Health Data Analyst

CHPS                   -           Certified in Healthcare Privacy and Security

CDIP                    -           Certified Documentation Improvement Practitioner


AAPC: (American Academy of Professional Coders)

CPC          -           Certified Professional Coder – Physician Based

CPC-H     -           Certified Professional Coder – Hospital (Facility) Based

CPC-P      -           Certified Professional Coder – Payer

CIRCC    -           Certified Interventional Radiology Cardiovascular Coder

CPMA      -           Certified Professional Medical Auditor

CPCO      -           Certified Professional Compliance Officer

CPPM      -           Certified Physician Practice Manager

Specialty Exams offered by AAPC

Ambulatory Surgical Center – CASCC

Anesthesia and Pain Management – CANPC

Cardiology – CCC

Cardiovascular and Thoracic Surgery – CCVTC

Chiropractic – CCPC

Dermatology – CPCD

Emergency Department - CEDC

Evaluation and Management – CEMC

Family Practice – CFPC

Gastroenterology – CGIC

General Surgery – CGSC

Hematology and Oncology – CHONC

Internal Medicine – CIMC

Obstetrics Gynecology – COBGC

Orthopaedic Surgery – COSC

Otolaryngology – CENTC

Pediatrics – CPEDC

Plastics and Reconstructive Surgery – CPRC

Rheumatology – CRHC

Surgical Foot & Ankle – CSFAC

Urology – CUC


ARHCP: Association of Registered Health Care Professionals

RMC                    -           Registered Medical Coder

RMM                   -           Registered Medical Manager

RMA                    -           Registered Medical Auditor


PMI : Practice Management Institute

CMC                    -           Certified Medical Coder

CMIS                   -           Certified Medical Insurance Specialist

CMOM               -           Certified Medical Office Manager

CMCO                -           Certified Medical Compliance Officer


NAHQ : National Association for Healthcare Quality

CPHQ      -           Certified Professional in Healthcare Quality