Tuesday, March 6, 2012

Medical Coding Books

Medical Coding Books:

 The following books are used for Medical Coding to assign codes to patient records.

ICD-9-CM : International Classification of Diseases-9th Revision-Clinical Modification

        It provides codes to classify diseases and wide variety of signs, symptoms, abnormal findings, complaints, social circumstances, and external causes of injury or disease. Under this system, every health condition can be assigned to a unique  category  and given a code, up to six characters long.

CPT : Current Procedural Terminology
        It is maintained by the American Medical Association(AMA) through the CPT Editorial Pane. The CPT code set describes Medical, Surgical, and Diagnostic services and is designed to communicate uniform information about medical services and procedures and procedures among physician, coders, patients, accreditation organizations, and payers for administrative, financial and analytical purposes. 

HCPCS : Healthcare Common Procedural Coding System

        HCPCS Level II codes are alphanumeric and primarily include non-physician services such as ambulance services and prosthetic devices, and represent items and supplies and non-physician services not covered by CPT-4 codes (Level I). Level II alphanumeric procedure and modifier codes are a single alphabetical letter followed by 4 numeric digits; the first alphabetic letter is in the A to V range. Level II codes are maintained by the US Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). There is some overlap between HCPCS codes and National Drug Code (NDC) codes, with a subset of NDC codes also in HCPCS, and vice-versa. The CMS maintains a crosswalk from NDC to HCPCS in the form of an Excel file.

No comments:

Post a Comment